Free Book Search Free eBooks of the Day   Today's cartoons
Recommended books  Best books of the 20's  Adventurous Books  Books about Money  Children's Books  Computer Science  
Crime & Mystery  Epic Fantasy  Horror  Humor  Philosophical Literature  Poetry  
Political Science Nonfiction  Romance  Science (Non-Fiction)  Science Fiction  Sociology  Woman  

Clark Ashton Smith
Tales of Zothique is a collection of fantasy short stories by Clark Ashton Smith, and edited by Lin Carter. It was first published in paperback by Ballantine Books as the sixteenth volume of its celebrated Ballantine Adult Fantasy series in June 1970. It was the first themed collection of Smith's works assembled by Carter for the series. The stories were originally published in various fantasy magazines in the 1930s, notably Weird Tales.

The book collects one poem and all sixteen tales of the author's Zothique cycle, set on the Earth's last continent in a far distant future, with an introduction and map and epilogue by Carter.

"Introduction: When the World Grows Old", by Lin Carter
"Zothique" (poem)
"Necromancy in Naat"
"The Empire of the Necromancers"
"The Master of the Crabs"
"The Death of Ilalotha"
"The Weaver in the Vault"
"The Witchcraft of Ulua"
"The Charnel God"
"The Dark Eidolon"
"The Black Abbot of Puthuum"
"The Tomb-Spawn"
"The Last Hieroglyph"
"The Isle of the Torturers"
"The Garden of Adompha"
"The Voyage of King Euvoran"
"Epilogue: The Sequence of the Zothique Tales", by Lin Carter
Search  Find at Amazon

2024, Free Book Search