Free Book Search Free eBooks of the Day   Today's cartoons
Recommended books  Best books of the 20's  Adventurous Books  Books about Money  Children's Books  Computer Science  
Crime & Mystery  Epic Fantasy  Horror  Humor  Philosophical Literature  Poetry  
Political Science Nonfiction  Romance  Science (Non-Fiction)  Science Fiction  Sociology  Woman  

The Complete Pegāna: All the Tales Pertaining to the Fabulous Realm of Pegāna
S.T. Joshi
Lord Dunsany is best known as a favorite of other writers--such as H. P. Lovecraft, who counted him second only to Edgar Allan Poe as an influence on his work. Lovecraft readers will be interested to know that two ideas Lovecraft got from Dunsany were (1) an artificial pantheon of gods and other entities (Dunsany's Pegāna Mythos predates Lovecraft's Cthulhu Mythos) and (2) a cosmic vision of man as living on a tiny island of order amid a vast and chaotic universe. Perhaps, as S. T. Joshi writes in the introduction to this collection, "It is now time to appreciate Dunsany in his own right as a master fantasist whose prodigal imagination was equaled by few, whose prose style was a model of affecting simplicity, and whose bold philosophical vision remains challenging to the present day." This edition includes the complete stories from The Gods of Pegāna (1905) and Time and the Gods (1906), plus three other stories belonging to the Pegāna cycle. --Fiona Webster

The Gods of Pegāna (1905)
Of Skarl the Drummer (1905)
Of the Making of the Worlds (1905)
Of the Game of the Gods (1905)
The Chaunt of the Gods (1905)
The Sayings of Kib (1905)
Concerning Sish (1905)
The Sayings of Slid (1905)
The Deeds of Mung (1905)
The Chaunt of the Priests (1905)
The Sayings of Limpang-Tung (1905)
Of Yoharneth-Lahai (1905)
Of Roon, the God of Going (1905)
The Revolt of the Home Gods (1905)
Of Dorozhand (1905)
The Eye in the Waste (1905)
Of the Thing That Is neither God nor Beast (1905)
Yonath the Prophet (1905)
Yug the Prophet (1905)
Alhireth-Hotep the Prophet (1905)
Kabok the Prophet (1905)
Of the Calamity That Befel Yun-Ilara by the Sea (1905)
Of How the Gods Whelmed Sidith (1905)
Of How Imbaun Became High Prophet in Aradec (1905)
Of How Imbaun Met Zodrak (1905)
Pegāna (1905)
The Sayings of Imbaun (1905)
Of How Imbaun Spake of Death to the King (1905)
Of Ood (1905)
The River (1905)
The Bird of Doom and the End (1905)
Time and the Gods (1906)
The Coming of the Sea (1906)
A Legend of the Dawn (1906)
The Vengeance of Men (1906)
When the Gods Slept (1906)
The King That Was Not (1906)
The Cave of Kai (1906)
The Sorrow of Search (1906)
The Men of Yarnith (1906)
For the Honour of the Gods (1906)
Night and Morning (1906)
Usury (1906)
Mlideen (1906)
The Secret of the Gods (1906)
The South Wind (1906)
In the Land of Time (1906)
The Relenting of Sarnidac (1906)
The Jest of the Gods (1906)
The Dreams of a Prophet (1906)
The Journey of the King (1906)
Beyond the Fields We Know (1919) essay
Idle Days on the Yann (1910)
A Shop in Go-by Street (1912)
The Avenger of Perdóndaris (1912)
Search  Find at Amazon

2024, Free Book Search