Free Book Search Free eBooks of the Day   Today's cartoons
Recommended books  Best books of the 20's  Adventurous Books  Books about Money  Children's Books  Computer Science  
Crime & Mystery  Epic Fantasy  Horror  Humor  Philosophical Literature  Poetry  
Political Science Nonfiction  Romance  Science (Non-Fiction)  Science Fiction  Sociology  Woman  

The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever
Stephen R. Donaldson
The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever is a fantasy trilogy by Stephen R. Donaldson. It was followed by The 2nd Chronicles, also a trilogy & The Last Chronicles, a planned tetralogy. The central character is Thomas Covenant, a bitterly cynical writer afflicted with leprosy, shunned & despised by society, & destined to become the heroic savior of an alternate world--or, perhaps, only of his own sanity. Thru six novels published between 1977 & 1983, he struggles against the evil Lord Foul, "The Despiser" who intends to break the physical universe to escape its bondage & wreak revenge upon his archenemy, "The Creator." Some story elements correspond to those in Wagner's Ring Cycle, but with inverted values. Donaldson's works are infused with a profoundly serious psychological tone involving an unabashed exploration of dark & repugnant aspects of the protagonist without reducing him to a caricature or an antihero. The contextual richness of the Land's varied geography, races, cultures & history enables all series of Chronicles to explore & expound upon an increasingly diverse & storied environment.
Search  Find at Amazon

2022, Free Book Search